News Flash: Upcoming Something Corporate Release Details

March 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm Leave a comment

On April 27th, Geffen Records will be releasing Played in Space: The Best of Something Corporate.

The 19-track collection will include songs off of Leaving Through the Window, North and Audioboxer, as well as some “previously unreleased” tracks, a remix of “I Woke Up in a Car” by Owl City‘s Adam Young and a brand new, full-band version of “Wait,” an acoustic favorite that was leaked back when the band first began.

The album track listing will be:

1. Space
2. I Woke Up in a Car
3. She Paints Me Blue
4.  Hurricane
5.  Me and the Moon
6. Fall
7. Ruthless
8. I Want to Save You
9. Cavanaugh Park
10. If You C Jordan
11. Down
12. Punk Rock Princess
13.  Walking By
14. The Astronaut
15.  Konstantine (Previously Unreleased)
16. Watch the Sky (Previously Unreleased)
17. Forget December (New Mix)
18. I Woke Up in a Car (Adam Young Mix)
19. Wait (New Recording)

Something Corporate is my favorite band of all time, so I am a bit disappointed by this. Mostly because initial news reports on the album had stated that it would also include a new recording of “Letters to Noelle,” another early track that became an underground fan favorite. There has also been an outcry from my fellow fans because “Konstantine” and “Watch the Sky” are not truly “unreleased;” while never on a major album, “Konstantine” is unarguably the ultimate fan favorite and you’d be hard-pressed to find any SoCo fan that doesn’t know this song. “Watch the Sky” was on the UK release of “North” and has been easily available for download for years.

The band has been on hiatus since 2006, when they parted ways to pursue other endeavors. Lead singer and cancer survivor Andrew McMahon has been extremely successful with his side project Jack’s Mannequin, though SoCo fans have still been hoping for a reunion all the while.

Andrew McMahon

Jack’s Mannequin have released two studio albums, Everything in Transit and The Glass Passenger, as well as a handful of EPs, several covers and collaboration tracks and a documentary called Dear Jack, which chronicles Andrew’s cancer battle. Andrew is currently starting pre-production on the third Jack’s record, but Something Corporate will be reuniting to play Bamboozle Left and Bamboozle Chicago (I’ve got my fingers crossed for a Bamboozle NJ announcement, which would only be fair).

Though this collection seems to be a bit of a letdown, the brand new track will be worth the wait (no pun intended). One can only hope that more new music will follow this…and a tour would be a dream come true.

Entry filed under: NEWS FLASH.

Fresh Video: “Telephone” by Lady Gaga & Beyoncé Album Review: The Jim Ivins Band

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

%d bloggers like this: